National Federation of Urban and Suburban Districts

National Federation of Urban and Suburban School Districts Urban and Suburban School Districts

NFUSSD - Blue Springs School District

Blue Springs School District

The Blue Springs School District, located on the eastern edge of the Kansas City metro area in Jackson County, covers a total of 58 square miles and includes students from the communities of Blue Springs, Grain Valley, Independence, Lake Tapawingo and Lee’s Summit. Enrollment in the district for the 2013-14 school year is over 14,500 students. Our mostly middle to upper-middle class community enjoys a stable economy. Within our school district boundaries, we have more than 80,000 residents. Our close proximity to Kansas City allows residents easy access to a variety of social, cultural and educational opportunities. There is also convenient access to over 54 colleges, universities and technical schools in the metro area.

The Blue Springs School District has a rich tradition of academic excellence. Today this tradition continues with major advancements in our curriculum and also our efforts through technology to place materials in student hands wherever they might be. The District has received Accreditation with Distinction from the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education for 13 consecutive years. Low student-to-teacher ratios allow teachers to focus learning on student needs and readiness, and instructional coaches assist teachers in coordinating learning from K-12. Student achievement is the focus of all activities in the Blue Springs School District, and we strive to assure all our students are prepared to take their places as productive, informed, and caring members of society.


Go to top of page