National Federation of Urban and Suburban Districts

National Federation of Urban and Suburban School Districts Urban and Suburban School Districts

NFUSSD - President

Current President

2016 Sarah Meier, Salt Lake City, Utah

Sarah Meier, Salt Lake City, Utah
Sarah Meier, Salt Lake City, Utah

I was born and raised in Utah. I graduated from Utah State University with a BA degree in History. I also minored in English and Political Science. I also received my secondary teaching license. I was hired by Granite School District to teach history at Cottonwood High School. I loved my short teaching career of 4 1/2 years before I started my family. My husband, Kelvin, and I are the parents of 6 children and grandparents of 12---so far. I love reading historical fiction----straight history---and a good mystery. Kelvin and I love to travel in the USA. We are campers and still go camping with all of our children and grandchildren at least once a year.

I was elected to the Granite Board of Education in 1996 and tool office in January of 1997. I have been elected 4 more times since then. I enjoy serving my board. I have made great friends with fellow board members and staff at Granite. I am passionate about public education and am glad that I continue to be involved in educating the students of our district. I love being invited to many of the activities in our schools and attend those activities as often as I can.

I also appreciate my friendships with the NFSSUD family of board members. There is not a greater group of people to work with. I look forwarding to serving you as this year’s President.

Past Presidents

2015 - Todd White, North Kansas City School District
2014 - Charles “Chuck” Saylors, Greenville, SC
2013 - Bryan Bowles, Davis UT
2012 - Terry Ward, North Kansas, MO
2011 - Jim Crawford, Kanawha County, WV
2010 - Barbara A. Smith, David District, UT
2009 - Keith W. Lutz, Millard District, NE
2008 - Elizabeth Andrews, DeKalb County, GA
2007 - Barry L. Newbold, Jordan District, UT
2006 - Carolyn L Campbell, Topeka District, KS
2005 - Thomas Cummings, North Kansas City, MO
2004 - Jane C. Callister, Jordan, UT
2003 - Terrie K. Beaudreau, Spokane, WA
2002 - Rodney Lafon, St. Charles Parish, LA
2001 - Beatrice Gordon, Montgomery, MD
2000 - Bruce E. Mallory, Topeka, KS
1999 - Clarence "Sonny" Savoie, St. Charles Parish, LA
1998 - Stephen Ronnenkamp, Granite, UT
1997 - Julie Miller, Shawnee Mission, KS
1996 - Catherine Burch, Prince George’s County, MD
1995 - Benjamin O. Canada, Atlanta, GA
1994 - Patricia Sandstrom, Granite, UT
1993 - Gary Livingston, Topeka, KS
1992 - Mary Cobb, Richardson, TX
1991 - Douglas Magann, Alachua County, FL
1990 - Coleman O. Glaze, Charleston County, SC
1989 - Robert Freeman, DeKalb County, GA
1988 - Marilyn Praisner, Montgomery County, MD
1987 - Raymond Whittenburg, Jordan, UT
1986 - Ohse Davis, Volusia County, FL
1985 - Eli Douglas, Garland, TX
1984 - Doris Eugene, Prince George’s County, MD
1983 - John Reed Call, Granite District, UT
1982 - Herriette Gwinn, Jefferson County, AL
1981- James Adams, Winston-Salem/Forsyth County, NC
1980 - Lois Hirschi, JOrdan District, UT
1979 - Ernest Grayson, Jefferson County, KY
1978 - Robert DeFord, Virginia Beach, VA
1977 - Edward Gilbert, Township H.S. District 214 IL
1976 - Dorothy Hultman, Shawnee Mission, KS
1975 - J. Floyd Hall, Greenville County, SC
1974 - Edward Anderson, Anne Arundel County, MD
1973 - Terrell Bell, Granite District, UT

Go to top of page